Autosport Awards Honour Barrichello

AT&T Williams’ Rubens Barrichello has won the prestigious Gregor Grant prize at the Autosport Awards. Held at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel, the British motorsport industry’s annual awards evening last night honoured Rubens’ extensive racing career and achievements across the sport’s various formulae. Rubens celebrated 300 Formula One races at this year’s Belgian Grand Prix and will contest his 19th season with the AT&T Williams team in 2011, making him the longest serving driver in the history of the sport.

Established in 1982, Autosport’s awards are handed out in recognition of particular achievement. Voted for by a panel put together by the magazine, its readers can also influence the outcome when they are given the opportunity to vote for their favourite drivers, team personnel and cars at the end of the racing season.

After receiving his award from Williams’ 1996 World Champion, Damon Hill, Rubens commented, “I’m so proud to get this trophy. I have had such a long life in the sport which has involved a lot of passion and a lot of speed. To hear so many kind words, especially from people like Sir Jackie Stewart, and to have my friends from Brazil there as well, made the night very special.”

Since their inception, Williams and its drivers have collected 28 Autosport Awards, including Frank Williams’ 2001 Gregor Grant Award and Patrick Head’s two John Bolster Awards for technical achievement.

Speak Your Mind